Rhode Island Overtime Laws

As an employee it is extremely important to understand the applicable overtime laws. Not knowing overtime laws can cost a worker thousands of dollars.

Overtime regulations were created by President Franklin Roosevelt as part of the New Deal. Specifically, overtime laws stem from the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

Certain employees are entitled to overtime pay (time and a half) for each hour worked if they worked more than 40 hours per week. Rhode Island also requires employers to provide overtime on Sundays as well.

Exceptions: There are some additional workers who are not covered, they include: rail, air and motor carrier employees; employees who sell cars, airplanes and boats; taxi drivers; movie theatre employees; and, delivery drivers.

New Minimum Wages In Effect for 2016

As of January 1, 2016, the minimum wage is $9.60 per hour in Rhode Island and $10.00 per hour in Massachusetts.  Contact Muller Law with any questions you have regarding the impact these increases have on you or your business.